Skip to content
$30,164.92 Given Back to Schools

ASINGBOL: An Archaeology of the Singaporean Poetic Form

Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 1 left!

Notify me when back in stock

Author Desmond Kon Zhicheng-MingdŽ
ISBN 9789811133947
Pages 136
Condition Very Good
Format Paperback

Invented in 2010 during an online interview with Trapeze Magazine, the asingbol is an expedient form for an expedient society, an Òimpossible formÓ for the Òimprobable nationÓ that is Singapore, borne out of impossible means. In this anthology, more than 90 writers have engaged with the form, coming up with their own expressions of it. Some attempt as close a structural reflection of the formal requirements, while others draw on the irony of the very same requirements to work in experimentation and innovation. The contributing writers include: Al Hafiz Sanusi, Al Lim, Alice Mendoza, Amber Lin, Andrea Yew, Angeline Sim, Beatrice Bowers, Benedict Yeo, Benzie Dio, Camillia Dass, Chelsey Chow, Chng Shao Kai, Christine Ruth Tan, Crispin Rodrigues, Daryl Qilim Yam, Dave Tai Wei Jie, Deborah Emmanuel, Eric Tinsay Valles, Eva Lim, Faith Christine Lai, Foo Rui Fen Benedicta, Fu Liren, Goh Kian Wee Kevin, Goh Tze Lit Jed, Hazel Lin, Iain Lim Jun Rui, Ian Chung, Irving Paul Pereira, Jared Ho, Jeremy Teo, Jerome Lim, Jerrold Yam, Jocelyn Lau, Jonathan B. Chan, Joses Ho, Joshua Ip, Joshua Lim, Karen Oh, Keane Lee Jun Wei, Kok Wei Liang, Kristie Ng Xinting, Lai Jia Shan Lauren, Lee Min Xue, Lee Seng Leong, Loh Guan Liang, Loh Jia Tyan, Low Kian Seh, Maia Jones, Marc Nair, Marylyn Tan, Max Pasakorn, Megan Cheah Shi Ying, Megan Chua, Min Lim, Morris Yang, Muslim Sahib, Natalie Wang, Ng Yi-Sheng, Ng Yong Zhin, Ng Yu Ci, Ouyang Yingzhao, Pallavi Narayan, Pamela Seong Koon, Patricia Karunungan, Paul Jerusalem, Qamar Firdaus Saini, Rachel Tan, Renata Dharma, Rodrigo Dela Pe–a Jr, Ruby Thiagarajan, Russ Hoe, S. Mickey Lin, Samuel Caleb Wee, Sarah Tan Shu Ling, Sean Francis Han, See Wern Hao, Serene Chew, Sheila Hong Kai En, Shilpa Dikshit Thapliyal, Stefanie Yeo, Stephanie Chan, Tan Xiang Yeow, Teh Su Ching, Teo Dawn, Thomas Ang, Timothy Wan Zhu-An, Tse Hao Guang, Vidhyashni Parimalan, Wong Si Jia, Yew Jen Khai, Yong Shu Hoong.