Skip to content
$30,164.92 Given Back to Schools

Balance: Why Great Powers Lose It and How America Will Regain It

$7.00
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 1 left!

Notify me when back in stock

Author R. Glenn Hubbard
ISBN 9781476700250
Pages 320
Condition Good
Format Hardcover

In this groundbreaking book, two economists explain why financial imbalance causes civil collapse—and why America could be next.From the Roman Empire to the Ming Dynasty to Imperial Spain, the superpowers of the world have grown to become the greatest economic, political, and military forces of their time—only to collapse into rubble and memory. What is at the root of their demise—and how can America stop it from happening again? In the tradition of James Robinson’s Why Nations Fail and Jared Diamond’s Collapse, Glenn Hubbard and Tim Kane present a bold, sweeping account of why powerful nations and civilizations break down under the heavy burden of financial imbalance. A bold and challenging book with cataclysmic predictions, Balance traces the successes and failures of post-colonial Argentina, the economic mismanagement of modern California, the long collapse of Rome, and the manufacturing bubble of Japan. Most importantly, Hubbard and Kane compare the modern United States to the empires of old and challenge Americans to address the real problems of our country’s economic trajectory. In doing so, they set the stage for discussion and directly address the challenges our nation faces in the coming years.
  • Expect some minor foxed spots on the book edges.
  • All books listed do not have annotations on reading pages, loose pages, water stains, and broken spines
  • Some may have names or short messages written on the flyleaf of the book
  • 100% refund if we fail to meet your expecations - no question asked.

(Sample image only)