Skip to content
$30,164.92 Given Back to Schools
Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/amai_stp-product-snippet.liquid

Emergence: The Connected Lives Of Ants, Brains, Cities, And Software

$7.00
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 1 left!

Notify me when back in stock

Author Steven Johnson
ISBN 9780684868769
Pages 288
Condition Fair
Format Paperback

In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web? In the coming years, the power of self-organization -- coupled with the connective technology of the Internet -- will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.
  • This book's edges have obvious foxed spots.
  • Apart from the visible brown foxed spots - the overall condition is good!
  • All books listed do not have annotations on reading pages, loose pages, water stains, and broken spines
  • Some may have names or short messages written on the flyleaf of the book
  • 100% refund if we fail to meet your expecations - no question asked.

(Sample image only)